Mission

Hear Nebraska meaningfully connects and engages fans, artists and communities through music journalism, education and events.

Vision

Hear Nebraska strives to make the state a globally recognized cultural destination.

THIS IS HOW WE DO IT:

Click to see examples of our programming

We develop and provide exposure for Nebraska’s music, arts and creative industry.

  • We produce engaging multimedia journalism that showcases Nebraska artists, venues and arts-related organizations.
  • We disseminate these stories to the world through our robust social social media channels and website. (While 60% of our website audience hails from Nebraska, 40% comes from outside the state, including 7% from other countries.)
  • Along with highlighting Nebraska musicians through HN Radio — and our statewide events calendar — our website serves as a de facto press kit for bands and venues.

We illustrate and create reasons for young people to invest and stay in Nebraska.

  • We produce and promote exciting events that provide compelling reasons to start businesses and raise families here.
  • We eagerly collaborate with statewide organizations and businesses, curating original, Nebraska music for their events.
  • We actively support tourism efforts, having earned the Nebraska Tourism Commission’s 2012 “Friend of Tourism” award.
  • By developing this largely untapped natural resource, we directly impact economic development.

We train and educate the next generation of Nebraska’s leaders, while increasing arts appreciation and state pride.

  • Our interns and contributors develop valuable multimedia and leadership skills — and killer portfolios — producing challenging, rewarding content.
  • Through our diverse programming, we help to build a more positive, inclusive, creative cultural community.
  • We document and preserve critical Nebraska cultural history, providing access to a wide audience.

Staff

Andrew Norman

HN's executive director

andrewn@hearnebraska.org

HN’s co-founder is a fourth-generation Nebraskan, born in Grant and raised in Imperial. A graduate of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln journalism school, he served as managing editor of Omaha alternative newsweeklies Omaha City Weekly and The Reader before earning his master’s in environmental journalism at Michigan State University. He and his wife, Angie, created HN (which began as his master’s project) in 2010. He became an official employee of Hear Nebraska in May 2014. He lives with Angie and their son, Townsend, in Omaha’s Benson neighborhood.

Angie Norman

HN's co-founder / administration

angien@hearnebraska.org
Angie’s been everywhere and done everything. She’s a full-time mom. Hear Nebraska remains her first-born.

Aaron Markley

HN's program manager

aaronm@hearnebraska.org

Aaron joined up at Hear Nebraska in May 2015 as Programming Manager. After earning his BA in Music Performance from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, Aaron spent a long period of his career working multiple jobs, including adjunct professor of music technology at Iowa Western, assistant manager at Slowdown, equipment manager and staffer at Omaha Girls Rock, Slumber Party Records, Teal Cat Project, sound engineer, video editor, and as an active member in the local music community. While he’ll continue to play music and volunteer at Omaha Girls Rock in his spare time, Aaron is looking forward to focusing his efforts full time at Hear Nebraska.

Andrew Stellmon

HN's managing editor

andrews@hearnebraska.org

Stellmon joined Hear Nebraska as an editorial intern in Fall 2014 after a handful of contributions that included an oral history of Lincoln’s Box Awesome. HN hired him on as staff writer in April 2015. A Kansas City, Mo., native, Stellmon moved to Lincoln in August 2007 to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He graduated with Distinction in May 2011 with a Bachelor’s Degree in History and Sociology. He enjoys TV dramas, barroom pool, Robespierre jokes and is a die-hard Royals baseball fan. He currently resides in Lincoln.

Board of Directors

Kendra Whitlock Ingram

vice president - programming and education

omaha performing arts

kingram@omahaperformingarts.org

Stephen Pedersen

general counsel & managing director

javlin capital llc

stephenpedersen@me.com

Jess Paisley

audit manager

seim johnson, llp

jpaisley@seimjohnson.com

Tim McMahan

director - digital & social media

union pacific railroad

tim.mcmahan@gmail.com

Aaron Shaddy

vice president - business development

sergeant’s pet care products

ashaddy@gmail.com

Marjorie Maas

director, community engagement

blue cross and blue shield of nebraska

marjoriemaas@gmail.com

Kristine Hull

chief financial officer

heartland family service

kristinehull1@gmail.com

Nic Swiercek

director of development & engagement

nebraska appleseed

swiercek@gmail.com

Craig Meier

ceo

medical solutions

Craig.Meier@medicalsolutions.com

Interns

Lauren Farris

lincoln multimedia intern

laurenf@hearnebraska.org

Connor Lepert

multimedia intern

connorl@hearnebraska.org

Bach Mai

marketing intern

mikem@hearnebraska.org

Zachary Visconti

editorial intern — lincoln

zacharyv@hearnebraska.org

Contributors

Chance Solem-Pfeifer

managing editor

chancesp@hearnebraska.org

Jacob Zlomke

contributor

jacobz@hearnebraska.org

Chevy Anderson

multimedia

chevasanderson@gmail.com

Peter Barnes

multimedia intern

peterb@hearnebraska.org

Cameron Bruegger

multimedia

cbruegg989@gmail.com

Shannon Claire

multimedia

s.claire.c@gmail.com

Margaret Davenport

editorial intern — lincoln

margaretd@hearnebraska.org

JP Davis

multimedia

jonperrydavis@yahoo.com

Tarah Dawdy

multimedia contributor

tarahd@hearnebraska.org

Kekeli Dawes

contributor

kekelid@hearnebraska.org

Andrew Dickinson

multimedia

dickinsonphoto@gmail.com

Chris Dinan

visuals editor

chrisd@hearnebraska.org

Randy Edwards

multimedia intern

randye@hearnebraska.org

Chloe Ekberg

chloeekberg@gmail.com

Jake Fyfe

design

jacobwrf@gmail.com

Layne Gabriel

editorial

laynegabriel@yahoo.com

Django Greenblatt-Seay

multimedia

django@lovedrunkstudio.com

Anna Gronewold

editorial

argronewold@gmail.com

Hanna Guenther

contributor

hanna@hearnebraska.org

Jeff Hall

editorial

jandrewhall@gmail.com

Nickolai Hammar

contributor

nickolaih@hearnebraska.org

Emily Harding

marketing

eharding@huskers.unl.edu

Jordan Hiebner

event coordination

jordanh@hearnebraska.org

Cory Kibler

editorial

cory.kibler@gmail.com

Adam LaRose

multimedia contributor

adaml@hearnebraska.org

Mike Machian

multimedia

mmachian@cox.net

Gabriella Martinez-Garro

contributor

gabriellamg@hearnebraska.org

Matt Masin

multimedia

Mattmasin@gmail.com

Bridget McQuillan

multimedia

mcquillanb8@gmail.com

Molly Misek

multimedia

molly.misek17@gmail.com

Rhett Muller

multimedia

rhettmuller2309@gmail.com

Gabriella Parsons

lincoln editorial contributor

gabriellap@hearnebraska.org

Cam Penner

multimedia

iamcampenner@gmail.com

Jhalisa Robinson

contributor

jhalisar@hearnebraska.org

Dan Scheuerman

editorial

dscheuerman@gmail.com

Chelsea Schlievert Yates

editorial

chelseadyates@gmail.com

Lauren Schomburg

programming

laurens@hearnebraska.org

Krystal Sidzyik

editorial

Ksidzyik@gmail.com

Hilary Stohs-Krause

editorial

hilarysk@gmail.com

Will Stott

contributor

willstott@hearnebraska.org

Michael Todd

editorial/multimedia

michaeltodd@hearnebraska.org

Hannah Toohey

contributor

hannaht@hearnebraska.org

Shelby Wolfe

contributor

shelbyw@hearnebraska.org

Lindsey Yoneda

lincoln multimedia intern

linsdeyy@hearnebraska.org