Screen shot 2012-02-01 at 2.44.25 PM

“Wowowow” by Cursive | Song Premiere

by Michael Todd

Only Cursive can dovetail Tim Kasher's screaming with a cocktail lounge piano. "Wowowow," the band's third song to be released from I Am Gemini, sets the scene for two minutes only to dive headlong into that scene.

The concept record's gemini twins sing their harmonies at a cabaret to end with a flourish. Bassist Matt Maginn has said, "Fact is, it's the most cohesive concept record we've ever done." Now that the pieces of the puzzle are being revealed in advance of the album's Feb. 21 release, start to fit the storyline together and see the tour schedule below to make plans now.

CURSIVE ON TOUR:

W/ UME AND VIRGIN ISLANDS

Sunday, Feb. 12: Denver, Colo., at Larimer Lounge
Tuesday, Feb. 14: Salt Lake City, Utah, at Urban Lounge
Wednesday, Feb. 15: Boise, Idaho, at Neurolux
Thursday, Feb. 16: Pullman, Wash., at Belltower
Friday, Feb. 17: Seattle, Wash., at Neumo’s
Saturday, Feb. 18: Vancouver, B.C., at Media Club
Sunday, Feb. 19: Portland, Ore., at Bunk Bar
Monday, Feb. 20: Eugene, Ore., at Wow Hall
Wednesday, Feb. 22: San Francisco, Calif., at Great American (NoisePop Festival)
Friday, Feb. 24: Los Angeles, Calif., at Troubadour
Saturday, Feb. 25: Pomona, Calif., at Glasshouse
Sunday, Feb. 26: San Diego, Calif., at Casbah
Monday, Feb. 27: Tempe, Ariz., at Crescent Ballroom
Tuesday, Feb. 28: Albuquerque, N.M., at Launchpad
Thursday, March 1: Wichita, Kansas, at Abode
Friday, March 2: Kansas City, Mo., at Record Bar
Saturday, March 3: Omaha, Neb., at Slowdown

W/ CONDUITS AND CYMBALS EAT GUITARS

Thursday, March 22: Iowa City, Iowa, at The Mill
Friday, March 23: Minneapolis, Minn., at 400 Bar
Saturday, March 24: Madison, Wisc., at High Noon
Sunday, March 25: Chicago, Ill., at Lincoln Hall
Monday, March 26: Champaign, Ill., at High Dive
Tuesday, March 27: Ann Arbor, Mich., at Blind Pig
Wednesday, March 28: Pittsburgh, Pa., at Mr. Smalls
Thursday, March 29: Cleveland, Ohio, at Grog Shop
Friday, March 30: Buffalo, N.Y., at Mohawk
Saturday, March 31: Toronto, Ont., at Horseshoe Tavern
Monday, April 2: Boston, Ma., at Middle East (Downstairs)
Tuesday, April 3: New York, N.Y., at Bowery Ballroom
Wednesday, April 4: New York, N.Y., at Bowery Ballroom
Thursday, April 5: Philadelphia, Pa., at Union Transfer
Friday, April 6: Washington, D.C., at Black Cat
Saturday, April 7: Raleigh, N.C., at Kings Barcade
Sunday, April 8: Atlanta, Ga., at The Earl
Monday, April 9: St. Augustine, Fla., at Café Eleven
Tuesday, April 10: Orlando, Fla., at The Social
Wednesday, April 11: Tallahassee, Fla., at Club Downunder
Friday, April 13: Houston, Texas, at Fitzgeralds
Saturday, April 14: Austin, Texas, at Mohawk
Sunday, April 15: Dallas, Texas, at Trees
Tuesday, April 17: Memphis, Tenn. at Hi Tone
Wednesday, April 18: Lexington, Ky., at Cosmic Charlies
Friday, April 20: St. Louis, Mo., at Off Broadway
Saturday, April 21: Columbia, Mo., at Mojos

Michael Todd is Hear Nebraska's managing editor. He's listening to North Platte's Brandon Raby and revelling in his gypsy jazz. Reach Michael at michaeltodd@hearnebraska.org.