Dayshell with Eyes Set To Kill at Vega

Dayshell and Eyes Set to Kill at Vega 12/07

Doors 7PM | Show 8PM | $12 Adv | 18+ event

Vega charges a $3 minor fee for all attendees under the age of 21

After his battles with depression and alcoholism caused him to part ways with Of Mice & Men in 2012, Shayley Bourget was an artist looking to get control of his personal life. Eventually wanting to return to music, he hooked up with drummer Raul Martinez for some low-pressure jamming, but instead, a new project, DayShell, was born. Made up of Bourget and Martinez, along with bassist Jordan Wooley, the group’s sound feels like an updated take on bands like Helmet and Deftones, merging the scraping heaviness of the progress-extreme sound with Bourget’s soaring clean vocals. The sound, which the band debuted with its first single, “Share with Me,” got the attention of Sumerian Records, which snapped DayShell up and released their eponymous debut in 2013. In early 2016, DayShell left Sumerian and inked a deal with Spinefarm, which would go on to put out their sophomore release, Nexus, in October of that year.

Eyes Set To Kill
Sisters Alexia and Arissa Rodriguez and vocalist Lindsey Vogt first formed eyes Set To Kill in 2003 in Tempe, Arizona. The three of them searched for fellow musicians to play with them, and despite playing alongside a number of other bands, signed and unsigned alike, the group was not able to retain a steady lineup; eventually they were joined by Alex Torres (guitar), Brandon Anderson (vocals), and Caleb Clifton (drums) in 2006. By the end of 2006 the band recorded and released their first EP entitled “When Silence Is Broken, The Night Is Torn.” After its release the band set out on tour to support co-headliners Hed PE and Papa Roach.

Eyes Set To Kill released their first full-length album in 2008 entitled “Reach” with a single of the same name. The single went on to hit number 29 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, as well as selling over 1900 copies in a week. The follow up album to “Reach” was released in 2009 and was named “The World Outside.” Within the first week of its release, “The World Outside” sold 2,400 copies and peaked at number 9 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart. After the release of two more studio albums, the band signed with Century Media Records on 19 July 2012. The result of the deal was the release of an album entitled “Masks” which was released in 2013.